MONTANA DEPARTMENT OF

CORRECTIONS

Montana Criminal Justice System

Part 2: A Walk Through the Montana Criminal Justice System



Assessment/Sanction
Centers




What are assessment & sanction
centers?

- These centers house offenders who are awaiting bed dates at other facilities
or are serving sanctions related to disciplinary actions.

- Play an integral role in the appropriate placement of offenders within the
Montana Department of Corrections’ system.

- Offenders participate in mental health, chemical dependency, sex offender
assessments, and more.

- At the end of the assessment process, offenders are placed within the
correctional system with the overall goal of meeting the offender’s needs,
reducing their risk of recidivism, and keeping the public safe.

- Placements can range from a direct release to community supervision (called
a conditional release) to placement in a secure correctional facility (meaning
the Montana State Prison or Montana Women’s Prison).




Locations

- Missoula Assessment and Sanction Center (MASC) - Missoula
- Passages Assessment Sanction Center — Billings

- Pine Hills Correctional Facility — Miles City
- START — Warm Springs




Treatment Facilities



Treatment Information

- Substance Use Disorder (SUD) is common among Montana’s offender
population. As such, the Montana Department of Corrections contracts with
three nonprofit organizations to provide seven residential inpatient
substance use disorder treatment facilities and operates two programs at

Pine Hills Correctional Facility.

- Three facility types fall within this category —
1. DUI treatment facilities
2. 90-day SUD treatment facilities
3. and long-term treatment facilities.




Treatment Centers

- Connections Corrections East — 111 West Broadway, Butte 59701

- Connections Corrections West — Dr. X Building, Warm Springs 59756
- Elkhorn Treatment Center - #1 Riverside Road, Boulder 59632

- Nexus Correctional Treatment Center — 111 Skyline Dr. Lewistown

- Passages ADT- 1001 South 27th, Billings 59101

- WATCh West — Dr. X Building, Warm Springs 59756




Montana Board of
Pardons and Parole

https://bopp.mt.gov/



Montana Board of Pardons and Parole

- Parole:
- early release of an inmate prior to the exgiration of his or her sentence of incarceration. Parole is
a privilege, not a right. The offender hasthe right to be released only upon completion of the
sentence that was handed down by the court.

- Parole eligibility date:

Every offender sentenced to the Department of Corrections or to the Montana State Prisonsis
given a parole ellglblllti{ date. By statute, the date is one fourth of the sentence lessjail credit for
non-life sentences. For life sentences, an offender must serve 30 years before becoming parole
eligible. This date is calculated by the Prison Records department. The information 1s given to

the parole board and the offender.
- Timing of parole hearing:
* When an offenderin secure custody is two months away from their parole eligibility date (1/4 of
their sentence), the Prison Records departmentnotifies the Parole Board.
- Pre-parole school

+ Prison or facility staff then conduct a pre-parole school for offenders and explain the parole
hearing and waiver processes

1002 Hollenbeck Road
Deer Lodge, MT 59722
Phone: 406-846-1404
Fax: 406-846-3512



https://bopp.mt.gov/
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- Board of Pardons and Parole members are appointed

by the Governor of Montana for 6-year terms.

- Current Montana Board of Pardons and Parole

Members:
- Steven Hurd — Chair

« Term - 1/18/2021to 12/31/2026
- Kristina Lucero

* Term—1/1/2019to 12/31/2024
- Darrell Bell

* Term—1/1/2019to 12/31/2024
- Brad Newman

* Term—-7/16/2018to 12/31/2022
- Jimmy Patelis

« Term - 6/1/2021 to 12/31/2026




Parole
Hearing:

What to
Expect

There are three parole board members on every panel.

One board member is considered the lead and has done the investigation on the
offender and created the parole interview.

The panel considers the parole report, which includes an assessment related to
recidivism, the parole plan, and other information related to the individual’s
incarceration. They also consider all testimony presented, both in support and
opposition.

After the parole interview and testimony, the panel deliberates privately and come
to a decision about the disposition.

No one under the age of 18 can appear for parole board hearings.

All statements must be directed towards the board members. No one can address
the offender. This means using third-person language.

There will be no name calling in the board room; this includes referring to the
offender as a monster or psychopath.




Parole Hearing: Victim/Witness

Notifications regarding parole hearings:

* VINE System

- BOPP Notifications

* DOC Victim Liaison Notifications
* County Attorney Notifications

Victims/survivors/witnesses who would like to participate:

* Options for appearing:
* By video (Zoom from a county attorney's office or Victim Services)
* By phone
* Written statement
« All options can be confidential




Montana Board of Pardons and Parole

- Administrative Rules of Montana (20.25.401) — BOPP and Victim Testimony

- (5) Avictim may present a statement regarding the effects of the crime on the victim. A victim's
statement may also include but is not limited to:

* (a) the mannerin which the crime was committed;
* (b) the circumstances surrounding the crime; and
* (c) the victim's opinionregarding whether the hearing panel should grant the offender parole.

- (6) At the presiding hearing panel member's discretion, the victim's statement and testimony will
be kept confidential if the presiding member finds the victim's privacy interest outweighsthe
public's right to know. A recording of the hearing will not personallyidentify the victim without
the victim's written consent.

(7) The presiding hearing panel member may close a hearing to hear or consider confidential
information.

+ (a) Information is confidential when the presiding memberfinds a person's privacy interest
outweighs the public's right to know.

* (b) When the hearing panel has finished hearing or discussing the confidential information, it
shall reopen the meeting and complete the hearingin public.




Parole
Denied

Offender will be seen again at a time
designated by the members of the
panel

Sexual and Violent offenders can be
denied for parole for up to 6 years at a
time

Non-Violent offenders can be denied
parole for up to one year.

- Parole denial for non-violent offenders means
that the parole board must set another
hearing or administrative review every year




Parole
Upon
Successful
Completion

The offender must complete the
specific program before paroling to
the community...

* For example: Parole upon successful

completion of 3.5 chemical dependency
program followed by a pre-release center.

Inmate Worker/Extended Stay

* Can apply to Pre-Release Center’s
« Unable to leave facility as inmate worker
- Able to leave the facility as extended stay
* Must participate in programming




Request for Investigation (RFI) is started by
Institutional Probation and Parole Officer (IPPO). This
asks the offender to clarify residence, employment, and
the IPPO should reach out to the victim for input.

RFI sent to PO in the community to investigate the
following:

- Residence

P&I‘Ole - Employment
* Treatment in community

Granted * Victim input

The Board of Pardons and Parole is one of the only
entities in the state that can restrict an offender
serving a parole sentence from living in the same
community as the victim (specific to violent and sexual
crimes).




Prerelease Centers



What 1s a prerelease center?

- Prerelease centers are designed to assist offenders with their transition from
a secure facility back into the community, as well as provide an alternative
to incarceration.

- Prerelease programs are generally six-month programs.

- Offenders live at the prerelease center, but work in the community, leaving
and returning to the center according to a pre-approved schedule.

- A wide range of treatment and programming, aimed at addressing court-
ordered requirements and identified risks and needs, is offered in the center,
as well as in the community.




Pre-Release Locations

- The Montana Department of Corrections contracts with five nonprofit
organizations and one county to provide four prerelease centers that serve
female offenders and six prerelease centers that serve male offenders.

- Locations:
- Alpha House — Billings
- Butte Prerelease Center — Butte
+ Gallatin County Re-entry Program — Bozeman
« Great Falls Transition Center — Great Falls
- Helena Prerelease Center — Helena
- Missoula Prerelease Center
- Passages - Billings




Inmate Worker Status

- Inmate worker time length is 6 months

- To request a parole hearing while on this status, they must have 6 months +90 days
clear conduct

+ Cannot leave the facility

- If transferred to Pre-Release Status immediately following inmate worker
status, another 120 days of clear conduct must be achieved before applying
for BOPP appearance




Probation & Parole
Department

https://www.cor.mt.gov/Probationand Parole/



https://www.cor.mt.gov/ProbationandParole/

Overview of Probation & Parole System

* Offenders are granted early release
from prison by the state Board of
Pardons and Parole after serving time
in a prison.

* Offenders are eligible for parole from
prison once they have completed a
quarter of their sentence, provided
there is no parole restriction.

* The Montana Board of Pardons and
Parole is responsible for

* Determining date and conditions of
parole

* Revoking parole

* Granting or denying executive
clemency applications

* Released into the community under

the jurisdiction of the department and
subject to its rules. This is not a parole
and inmates are not eligible for parole
consideration while they are on
conditional release.

* Offenders who violate the conditions

of their release and are subsequently
sent to prison would become eligible
for parole when prison records show
they have served their minimum
sentence.

* Deferred Sentence: (or postponed)

for 1-6 years under certain conditions.
If an offender successfully completes
the deferred term, a district judge may
allow him or her to change a plea of
guilty to not guilty, and dismiss the
case. If an offender violates the
conditions of probation, a judge may
impose a period of incarceration up to
the maximum allowed by law and
suspend any or all of the term.

Suspended Sentence: Offenders
given suspended sentences do not
have the convictions removed from
their records after completing their
sentences.




Probation & Parole System

- Comprised of two units;
1. Probation & Parole Bureau

2. Interstate Compact

- Probation & Parole (P&P) has 22 field offices
* Supervises more than 11,000 adult offenders on community supervision
- P&P uses several specialized approaches:

+ Intensive Supervision Program, a six-month program providing a heightened level of offender
managementin Montana communities.

* Other dedicated approaches focus on offenders with co-occurring disorders, DUI offenses,
sexual offending and substance abuse.

« MIIG: Montana Incentives and Intervention Grid



https://leg.mt.gov/content/Committees/Interim/2019-2020/Law-and-Justice/Committee-Topics/Agency-Oversight/Corrections/DOC-miig-grid-june-2019.pdf
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Probation & Parole Offices

Missoula Region Kalispell Region Billings Region

Missoula P&P Office 9 Kalispell P&P Office 17 Billings P&P Office
Anaconda P&P Office 10 Libby P&P Office 18 Miles City P&P Office
Butte P&P Office 11 Polson P&P Office

Havre Region
Hamilton P&P Office 12 Thompson Falls P&P Office

19 Glendive P&P Office
Great Falls Region Helena Region 20 Glasgow P&P Office
Great Falls P&P Office 13 Helena P&P Office 21 Havre P&P Office
Cut Bank P&P Office 14 Bozeman P&P Office 22 Sidney P&P Office
Lewistown P&P Office 15 Dillon P&P Office
Shelby P&P Office 16 Livingston P&P Office




Conditions of
Probation &
Parole

Standard Conditions

Ll

o o

Residence

Travel

Employment and/or program
Reporting

Weapons

Financial- Obtain permission before financing of purchasing an
automobile, real property, or engaging in business

Search of Person or Property
Laws & Conduct

Illegal Drug Use

No Alcohol

Drug Testing

No Gambling

Supervision Fees

Victim Restitution
Fines/Fee’s

No Victim Contact

Statutory Requirements:

1.
2.

Sexual/Violent Offender Registration
DNA Testing

Special Conditions

1.

2.
3.
4

Counseling/Treatment/Programming
No Bars
No Casinos

Association- No association with probationers, parolees, prison inmates,
or persons in the custody of any law enforcement agency without prior
approval




Conditional Discharge From Supervision &
Early Termination of Deferred or Suspended Sentence

- An offender granted a CDFS will no longer be under Probation and Parole supervision but
will remain under the jurisdiction of the District Court or the Board of Pardons and Parole
until the date or his/her sentence expiration or termination

. Offender Eligibility:
- Housing stability
- Employment stability or financially self-sufficient
+ Successfully completed all court-and/or BOPP- ordered treatment and programming

- Has 11:1110‘5 had any positive drug or alcohol tests or any drug or alcohol use admissionsin the last 6
months

* Free of non-compliance violations during the supervision time required base on risk level
+ Accountableis working towards and meeting goals established in case plan

- Paid all restitution and court-ordered financial obligations

* The Department finds there are no objective reasons for victim’s strong opposition

- Court or BOPP Determines:
- Best interest of the offender and society
- Offender will not present unreasonablerisk of dangerto the victim(s) of the offense
+ All restitution and court-ordered financial obligations have been paid in full




MONTANA DEPARTMENT OF

CORRECTIONS

Conditional Discharge from Supervision /

Farly Termination from Suspended or Deferred Sentence

INFORMATION FOR VICTIMS

An offender granted a
CDFS/Early Term. will no
longer be under Probation &
Parole supervision. CDFS
grantees will remain under
the jurisdiction of the District
Court or the Board of
Pardons and Parole until the
date of his/her sentence
expiration or termination.
Early Term. grantees will
discharge his/her sentence at
the time of approval.

Montana Statute:
§46-23-1011, MCA
§46-23-1020, MCA
§46-18-208. MCA

WHAT IS IT? ELIGIBILITY

An offender is eligible due to
compliance with his/her
supervision:

e (Court-ordered financial
obligations have been
paid in full

e Judgment does not
prohibit early release

e Offender has served time
required based on
risk/needs level

e Successfully completed all
court/BOPP ordered
treatment and
programming

e Demonstrated stability in
housing & financial self-
sufficiency

VICTIM INPUT

Victim(s) are given
opportunity to ask questions
and provide written or oral
input.

e To provide input, contact
DOC Victim Services,
Probation and Parole
office. County Attorney's
office. or Board of
Pardons and Parole.

e Offender will receive
input provided as part of
the court process.

To receive notifications,
please visil
www.vinelink.com or call
DOC Victim Services.

ADDITIONAL INFO

An offender on
conditional release is not
eligible for a CDFS.
Out-of-State interstate
offenders being
supervised in Montana,
are not eligible.
A sexual or violent
offender on lifetime
supervision is not eligible.
If granted. VINE will no
longer provide
notifications for offender.
If denied. offender may be
eligible to re-apply based
on established risk level.
© Low: 9 months
© Moderate: 12 months
© Female Medium/ Men's
High: 18 months
© Female High/ Men's Very
High: 24 months

MONTANA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS VICTIM SERVICES PROGRAM

www.cor.mt.gov/victims/ | Helpline: (406) 444-0447 or Toll Free (888) 223-6332




Victim’s
Perspective:

CDFS & Early

Term.

- Victims have the right to be notified of

eligibility and provide input to the court

- Not many victims are aware of this statute and

process, and may require increased sensitivity

- Victim input is not confidential and will be

available to the defendant, county attorney,
judge, etc.
* DOC provides victim input/information to the

court, which 1s then disseminated when
appropriate

- If set for a court hearing, victim(s) may be

called to provide testimony

- MDOC Victim Services: Help victims navigate

the process, notification, assist with statements
and providing input, staying updated on
eligibility, understanding outcome, etc.




Interstate Compact

- Interstate Compact oversees the interstate movement of individuals for the
purposes of offender supervision. Offenders who fall into this category include
individuals from Montana who are being supervised in another state, or
offenders from another state who are being supervised in Montana. About 1,500
offenders are included in this group.

- Eligibility:
- Has 90 days or an indefinite period of supervision at the time the sending state transmits
the transfer request

* Substantially in compliance with the terms of supervision in the sending state and no
revocation proceedings have been initiated

- Is a resident of receiving state or has resident family in the receiving state who;

+ Indicated a willingness and ability to assist the offender
+ Offender can obtain employment or has means of support

- Has a valid plan for supervision

- Interstate Compact Offender Tracking System (ICTOS)
* Public Web Portal:



https://pwp.interstatecompact.org/PWP/searches

Interstate Compact- Application Process

- Non-refundable interstate transfer application fee- $50
- Offender must fill out the Application for Interstate Compact Transfer
- Travel permit may be issued for 7 days to return to resident state

- Employment and residence plan in other state is verified by the P*P
Office/IPPO/facility staff

 Verification must be made by phone or email contact

- VINE no longer works for offenders who interstate compact

* Victim must register with receiving state




Restorative Justice

Opportunities through Montana Department of Corrections Victim
Services Bureau

31



Restorative Justice

- A criminal justice concept that:
- Gives victims a voice,
- Focuses on offender accountability,

Foundations of Restorative Justice
« Promotes healing for everyone affected by

crime — victim’s, families, communities, .
and offenders. K ﬁ #
- After a crime, a victim’s life 1s forever

. R t A tabilit Heali E th
changed regardless of the type of crime that espec ccountability eding mpathy
occurred.

A MICHIGAN
. . . . VIRTUAL michiganvirtual.org
- Restorative Justice recognizes the crime |

hurts everyone- victims, offenders and the
community and creates an obligation to
make things right.




Victim-Offender Dialogue

- Victim initiated and voluntary for all parties

- Offender can truly “hear” how his/her crimes harmed
others

- Victim may hear details about the crime only the offender
knows

- Offender can demonstrate remorse and strategy for change

- Appropriate for most crimes except in most cases domestic
violence and stalking

- Most requests involve crimes of severe violence







Offender-Accountability Letters

- An opportunity for an offender to make
amends

- Different than a court ordered apology letter
- True remorse: “I'm sorry. It was my fault”

- We discourage forgiveness requests

- Offender guideline available for handout

- Letters are sent to the Victim Services
program and reviewed for appropriateness.
If appropriate, a brochure is sent to the
victim to choose if they would like to receive
the letter.







Victim Impact Panel (VIP)

- Primary purpose is providing a healing
opportunity to crime victims

- Another way for victims to tell offenders
how their Criminal BENAVIOr NAIMS O N S e i,

- Less intimidating for victim than victim- “I DIDN’T SEE HOW MANY
offender dialogue (offenders who PEOPLE MY ACTIONS IMPACTED—

committed the crimes are not present) U N T I L I H EA R D
- Empowering for victims who help an
offender change FROM THE VICTIMS.”

: : : Attendee Testimonial
- If you are interested in attending @ VIP s chaee lesimonea
panel, please reach out to your local
Victim Liaison




A Pep Talk



Questions




Allison Smaaladen

VICTIM LIAISON
REHABILIATION AND PROGRAMS DIVISION

allison.smaaladen@mt gov

Cell: 406-417-1665 | Office: 406-691-7259
107 E. Granite | Butte, MT 59701

AN

MONTANA DEPARTMENT OF

CORRECTIONS

COR.MT.GOV

Tawny Rogers-Sturn
She/Her/Hers
State Victim Liaison

Montana Board of Crime Control

Office: 406-444-0213| Cell: 406-781-3406

Email: tawny.rogers@mt.gov | tawny.sturn@mt.gov

5 S. Last Chance Gulch | PO Box 201408 | Helena, MT 59620
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